IIS

所長的話
liao        “Known will hills be if fairies dwell, no matter high or low; and charmed will waters be if dragons lurk, no matter deep or shallow.” The impact of academic research is not a product of quantity, and so quantity of research is not the main concern of Academia Sinica. The Institute of Information Science has been established more than 35 years, and with a careful and conscientious mindset, our research fellows have earned many distinguished awards. Former directors Dr. Der-Tsai Lee and Dr. Lin-Shan Lee are chief examples, both having been elected as Academician of Academia in succession.

The achievements and honors of other faculty are equally significant—they include the Outstanding Appointed Researcher Award, Outstanding Research Award, Ta-You Wu Memorial Award, Academia Sinica (A.S.) Sprout Project Award, A.S. Award for Junior Research Investigators, Young Researcher Award of the Foundation for the Advancement of Outstanding Scholarship, Outstanding Award of Pan Wen Yuan Foundation, TECO Foundation Award, and more. A few faculty members are honored as IEEE Fellow and ACM Fellow due to their academic achievements.

I fully ascribe to the motto promoted under former Director Dr. Der-Tsai Lee—“Every job is a self-portrait of those who did it. Autograph your work with quality.” This mentality conveys that the ultimate goal of academic research is not monetary fortune, but rather the fortune of mankind. On top of that, I support and hope to carry on the spirit expressed by Dr. Yuan-Tseh Lee, the former President of Academia Sinica, when he said, “Share the fruit of knowledge with all mankind.”

Finally, I.I.S., which stands for Institute of Information Science, also stands for the following: “I” for Integrity- may upright be our name; “I” for Innovation- impactful research always originates from creativity; “S” for Serenity-rather than the literal Chinese translation of “silence,” its greater meaning derives from the saying, “A simple life preserves integrity, tranquility yields transcendence.” This inner quietness empowers researchers to enlarge their scope and vision, and to be still when faced with a problem, and then make a sound judgment that truly solves the problem by the given wisdom.

Let’s do it and strive for excellence!

sign of liao
September 2018

中研院資訊所

所長的話
liao        「山不在高,有仙則名;水不在深,有龍則靈」, 學術研究的impact並不在以量取勝, 中央研究院本身並沒有靠數量取勝的本錢。 資訊所成立至今已超過35個年頭,所內同仁兢兢業業,歷年來獲得許多大獎的肯定。 包括兩位前所長李德財教授及李琳山教授先後獲選為中央研究院院士。 其他同仁的表現也不遑多讓, 歷年來曾獲得國科會傑出特約研究員獎、傑出研究獎、吳大猷獎、中央研究院深耕計畫、中央研究院年輕學者著作獎、傑出人才基金會創新研究獎、潘文淵研究傑出獎、東元獎等。 數位同仁並因在學術上之傑出表現獲選為IEEE Fellow及ACM Fellow。

歷年來所內同仁榮獲各種國內外知名獎項及榮銜,其中包 含國科會傑出特約研究員獎、傑出研究獎、吳大猷先生紀 念獎、中央研究院深耕獎、中央研究院年輕學者研究著作 獎、中華民國十大傑出女青年獎、經濟部國家發明創作獎、 中國電機工程學會優秀青年電機工程師獎、中華民國資訊 學會李國鼎穿石獎與資訊榮譽獎章、ACM 台北/台灣分會 李國鼎青年研究獎、東元獎、潘文淵文教基金會研究傑出 獎、傑出人才發展基金會創新研究獎等。

前所長李德財院士曾在就任時帶來兩句英文 “Every job is a self-portrait of those who did it. Autograph your work with quality”。 當時公開徵求翻譯,第一名的朋友翻譯成「件件工作,反映自我;凡經我手,必為佳作。」個人非常認同這樣的工作態度。 學術研究工作如果將目標界定在造福人類,那致富就不是它的終極目標。 個人也非常認同李遠哲前院長「知識的果實與全人類共享」這樣的精神, 也願意與同仁為這樣的理想共同努力。

最後,我以資訊所的簡稱「IIS」表達自己對未來最誠摯的期許。 第一個「I」是Integrity,我期待每一個同仁都能以「正直」當處世的態度,不管是對人或對事; 第二個「I」是Innovation,要產生有impact的研究成果,必定植基於創意; 第三個字「S」是Serenity,這個字的意涵遠遠超過它的直譯「寧靜」。 它蘊涵著「淡泊明志、寧靜致遠」的意思。 這種內在的寧靜能讓我們從事研究工作的人看的很遠,當研究遇到瓶頸時能堅毅不拔、冷靜面對、並有智慧的解決問題。就此與大家共勉,加油啦!

sign of liao
2018 年 9 月