Institute of Information Science
計算理論與演算法實驗室
Principal Investigators:
楊柏因 Bo-Yin Yang (Chair) 王大為 Da-Wei Wang 呂及人 Chi-Jen Lu
李德財 Der-Tsai Lee 高明達 Ming-Tat Ko 徐讚昇 Tsan-sheng Hsu
廖純中 Churn-Jung Liau 劉進興 Jing-Sin Liu 鐘楷閔 Kai-Min Chung

[研究群介紹]

一、圖論與圖論演算法
基礎圖論:圖論可以解決許多實際應用問題,而且也是很 多理論研究的工具。我們通常先由基礎圖論性質的研究著 手,然後藉由新性質的發現,設計高效率演算法,再進一 步探討理論之突破,以及可能的應用價值。我們探討於實 際應用產生的圖論演算法問題。

網路設計與分析:網路設計問題探討的是如何將許多不同 位置的站點,經由適當的網路架構連結以滿足特定的需 求。這類問題涵括了許多不同領域內的核心議題,例如超 大型積體電路設計、無線傳感器網路、生物資訊學及通訊 網路等。在不同的應用領域,這些問題透過各式各樣的效 能評估方式及限制條件,以不同的形式出現,而其間又存 在著微妙的共通性。
二、幾何計算
Voronoi圖形有非常廣泛的用途,是幾何計算領域學者長期 研究的重要幾何結構。此結構所具有的性質及複雜度,還 有如何計算而得等等都是幾何計算演算法的基本問題。當 引進不同的「距離」概念時,例如「時間距離」,Voronoi 圖形也會跟著變化。而其特性與所選定的「距離」如何互 動改變,如何利用「距離」的某些性質,設計更有效率的 演算法是我們所欲探討的問題。
三、機器人相關系統
發展機器人相關的系統設計、感測、規畫、控制的基礎理 論和整合技術、情感與認知計算,讓人能安全舒適的與機 器人進行必要的互動,使機器人能成為人類生活(包含食、 衣、住、行、育、樂)的好夥伴與好幫手,是當前及未來機 器人研發的重要課題。我們正進行機器人的模擬與實驗研 究為:基於地圖重建的自主導航與控制,平滑路徑規劃的 軟性計算方法,以及整合感測網路與機器人的研究。
排版插圖四、資料密集計算
巨量資料之邏輯與知識表達:巨量資料之中隱藏許多有用 的資訊與知識,我們將以形式邏輯的方法來探討相關的知 識表徵與推理問題。

巨量資料相關之高速演算法設計:近年來大量資訊很容易 在線上取得。我們研究如何利用這些巨量資料進行快速計 算。研究題目包含資料隱私保護、多方私密計算、電腦對 局理論和實作及大型社群網路的動態模擬。
五、複雜度理論
亂數在計算上,已成為一個有用的資源,因為隨機演算法 對許多重要計算問題提供了目前最有效率的解決方法。然 而一般隨機演算法的設計,均假設有完美的亂數供其使 用。然而電腦或自然界能否存產生完美的亂數,也是一個 值得爭議的問題。解決此困境的第一種方法,乃是研究如 何將隨機式演算法有效率的轉化成確定式演算法。我們研 究如何在合理的假設下達成這個目的,我們也研究這種方 法的可能極限。解決困境的第二種方法,乃是設計所謂的 亂度淬取程序,來由稍具亂度的弱亂數源中,淬取近乎完美的亂數,以 供隨機演算法使用。我們建構出目前最有效率的亂度淬取程序,而我們 也發現亂度淬取程序於密碼學的應用。
六、密碼學
特殊硬體密碼學:包括微控制器晶片 (microcontroller, 即智慧卡的主 要組件),可即時重新程式化的電路陣列 (Field Programmable Gate Array, FPGA) 上面的密碼學演算法。利用計算機的顯示晶片來做橢圓曲 線的計算,可在破密上獲得破紀錄的速度。我們也做出低電流低耗能可 以在 RFID 上執行的數位簽章演算法。最近也進行使用智慧型手機或其 他類似的裝置來協助進行認證的資訊交換,或其他實用上的資訊安全研 究。

後量子密碼學:研究一種以處理多個小有限體中的變數,來取代大代數 結構中的元素的多變量的公鑰密碼系統(MPKC),它被認為是在量子電腦 發明之後可能存續的公鑰密碼系統 (Post-Quantum Public-Key Cryptosystem) 的一個重要分類,該類系統一般也有高效能的名聲,適合用 在小或嵌入式系統上。

代數攻擊:XL 演算法為一種解方程式的技巧,幫助終結了線性回饋平移 暫存器 (Linear Feedback Shift Register) 作為加密技術的時代,我們對 它首度作了完整的分析,並推廣到一些其他的應用。
排版插圖

相關資訊

Academia Sinica 資訊科學研究所 Academia Sinica

Institute of Information Science
Computation Theory and Algorithms Laboratory
Principal Investigators:
:::Bo-Yin Yang (Chair) :::Tsan-sheng Hsu :::Ming-Tat Ko :::Der-Tsai Lee
:::Churn-Jung Liau :::Jing-Sin Liu :::Chi-Jen Lu :::Da-Wei Wang
:::Kai-Min Chung

[ Group Profile ]

(1) Graph Theory and Algorithms
Fundation: Graphs are used to model many important applications and are a main tool for solving many theoretical problems. We often start with probing fundamental theoretical problems such as the structure of graphs with certain properties. With these properties, we then design efficient solutions to them. We work on algorithmic graph problems arisen from real-world applications.

Network Design and Analysis: The network design problem considers how to connect a collection of sites by a network such that certain requirements are met. Topics in network design arise as central issues in wide areas, such as VLSI design, wireless sensor network, bioinformatics, and communication networks. With respect to different applications, these issues demonstrate themselves in different forms, with subtle similarities via various quality measurements and constraints in practice.
(2) Geometric Computing
The Voronoi diagram is a very versatile and well-studied geometric construct in geometric computing. The properties, complexity, and computation of Voronoi diagram are among the fundamental problems to study. By introducing different metrics, such as time-distance, the diagram will change. In general, we plan to study how the properties of the Voronoi diagram vary with the metric selected, and how we make use of the properties of the selected metric, if any, to construct the diagram.
(3) Robtics
The development of intelligent robotic systems to ensure the safety and comfort of human-robot interaction is of paramount importance in current and near future robotics research. To make robots as good partner and good helper of human beings requires the theory and technology of sensing, planning and control and their integration. Along the line of robotics research, we conduct simulations and experiments on autonomous navigation based on 3D map building, smooth path planning using soft computing and robot-assisted sensor network.
�ƪ�����(4) Data-Intensive Computation
Logic and knowledge representation: Much information and knowledge are implicit in massive data. Wewant to study the related knowledge representation and reasoning problems based on formal logics. With a proper representation framework, knowledge discovered from massive data can be used in intelligent data-intensive computational systems.

Efficient algorithms: With the rapid development of computer and communication technology, it has become much easier to access or store massive amounts of data electronically. We are interested in the research problems concerning efficient computation of massive data which include data privacy, issues in large scale social networks and classical computer games.
(5) Complexity Theory
Randomness has become a valuable resource in computation, as randomized algorithms have provided the most efficient solutions for many important computational problems. However, randomized algorithms typically depend on the availability of a perfect random source, whose existence even in the nature is debatable. There are two approaches to resolve this issue. The first approach is to study whether or not randomized algorithms can be efficiently converted into deterministic ones. We show how this can be achieved under reasonable assumptions, and we also study its potential limitation. The second approach is to design procedures, called extractors, which can extract almost perfect randomness from slightly random sources. We provide an optimal construction of extractors, and we also find applications of extractors in cryptography.
(6) Cryptography
Efficient Cryptography and CHES (Crypto Hardware and Embedded Systems): We are working on designing cryptographical approaches for specialized hardware, including implementing cryptographical algorithms on vector units in CPUs, FPGAs, ASICs, and GPU (graphic processing units). One of our record-breaking results is using GPUs to assist cryptanalytic computations. We also study the implementation of practical information security algorithms, such as using intelligent agents to assist server-less authenticated information exchanges.

Post-Quantum Cryptography: We work on MPKCs (Multivariate Public-Key Cryptosystems) that has advanced the understanding of the field from both theoretical and practical viewpoints. MPKCs operate on a vector of variables over a small field, instead of on an element in a huge algebraic structure (as in RSA or ECC). This key characteristic makes MPKCs faster while maintaining comparable design security; hence, they are useful for low-resource environments, such as embedded systems and smart cards.

Algebraic Cryptanalysis: We work on faster implementations and additional theory behind such system-solvers. This work also relates to the previously mentioned area above, since an attack on an MPKC is equivalent to solving an instance of the multivariate quadratic systems (MQ) or the extended isomorphism of polynomials (EIP) problems.
�ƪ�����

More

Academia Sinica Institue of Information Science Academia Sinica