Institute of Information Science Academia Sinica
Institute of Information Science Academia Sinica
  
Multimedia Technologies Laboratory

Principal Investigators:
:::Hong-Yuan Liao (Chair) :::Hsin-Min Wang :::Chu-Song Chen :::Wen-Liang Hwang
:::Chun-Shien Lu :::Tyng-Luh Liu :::Su Li

[Group Profile]
Multimedia technology is considered to be one of the three most promising industries of the twenty-first century, along with biotechnology and nanotechnology. Over the past two decades, we have witnessed how multimedia technology can influence various aspects of our daily life. Its wide spectrum of applications presents a constant challenge to advance a broad range of multimedia techniques, including those related to music, videos, images, text and 3D animation.

The main research interests of individual Multimedia Technology Group members include multimedia signal processing, computer vision and machine learning. In addition to these individual research interests, joint research activity in this group can be best characterized by its two ongoing major projects: (A) Integration of Video and Audio Intelligence for Multimedia Applications and (B) Deep Learning for Multimedia Information Processing.

A. Integration of Video and Audio Intelligence for Multimedia Applications
This project explores new multimedia techniques and applications that require the fusion of video and audio intelligence. With the prevalence of mobile devices, people can now easily film a live concert and create video clips of performances. Popular websites such as YouTube or Vimeo have further enabled this phenomenon as data sharing becomes easy. Videos of this kind, recorded by audiences at different locations of the scene, provide those who could not attend the event the opportunity to enjoy the performance. However, the viewing experience is usually degraded because the multiple source videos are captured without coordination, inevitably leading to incompleteness or redundancy. To amplify the pleasure of the viewing/ listening experience, effectively fusing videos with a smooth “decoration” process, generating a single, near-professional audio/visual stream would be highly desirable.

Video mashup, an emerging research topic in multimedia, can satisfy these requirements. A successful mashup process should consider all videos captured at different locations and convert them into a complete, nonoverlapping, seamless, and high-quality product. To successfully conduct a concert video mashup process, we propose to address the following issues: (1) To make the mashup outcome as professional as possible, we propose to integrate the rules defined in the language of film; (2) To navigate the visual order of different video clips, we have to solve the causality problem of the visual component; (3) In addition to the visual component, alignment of multiple audio sequences should also be carefully addressed. For example, automatic soundtrack suggestions for usergenerated video (UGV) is a challenging but desirable task. A major reason for the challenge is that the distance between video and music cannot be measured directly. Motivated by recent developments in affective computing of multimedia signals, we map low-level acoustic and visual features into an emotional space, and match these two modalities therein. Our research simultaneously tackles video editing and soundtrack recommendation. The correlation among music, video, and semantic annotations such as emotion will be actively explored and modeled. A music-accompanied video that is composed in this way is attractive, since the perception of emotion naturally occurs during video watching and music listening.

B. Deep Learning for Multimedia Information Processing
Owing to its effectiveness in solving various challenging tasks, deep learning-related research has attracted great attention in recent years. In the field of Multimedia Information Processing, deep learning has revealed new opportunities for solving both conventional and modern research problems. During the upcoming few years, we aim to rigorously re-formulate or better solve emergent multimedia-related problems using deep learning. These efforts are highlighted by the following three collaborative projects.

1. Visual information processing:
based on the recent progress¬ with GPUs and large-scale databases, the deep convolution network (CNN) has received extensive attention. Deep CNN can learn rich feature representations from images, and performs impressively on image classification and object detection tasks. While most deep learning methods are designed for classification purposes, they are not necessarily suitable for search or retrieval of relevant images. Our study focuses on the development of new deep learning methods for image or video retrieval. We address two main issues, retrieval efficiency and accuracy. To improve the retrieval efficiency of deep networks, we proposed a simple yet effective supervised deep hash approach that constructs binary hash codes from labeled data for large-scale image searching. Our approach, dubbed supervised semantics-preserving deep hashing (SSDH), constructs hash functions as a latent layer in a deep network and the binary codes are learned by minimizing an objective function defined over classification error and other desirable hash codes properties. The work has been accepted by IEEE TPAMI in 2017 (with a preliminary version in CVPRW, 2015). To improve retrieval accuracy, we introduce and idea called cross-batch reference (CBR), which can enhance the training of CNNs. The results have been published as a long paper in ACM MM, 2016. Our ongoing research also includes multi-modal depth learning for audiovisual speech enhancement and user identification. In the future, we will develop effective approaches to analyze characters in a movie and mine their relationships by combining image and natural-language information.

2. Crowd behavior analysis:
A crowd can remain motionless or move with respect to time. When a crowd moves, it moves in a non-rigid manner, or may form sub-groups of people. Therefore, effective analysis of crowd behavior is a nontrivial task. We aim to propose heuristic definitions for characterizing a crowd. Based on these criteria, we would propose various deep-learning modules to construct a complete framework for analyzing crowd behaviors, including subgroup detection, sub-group merging, abnormal behavior detection and other traits.

3. Music information retrieval:
Most descriptions of music apply at multiple granularities, since music signals are constructed with multiple instruments, hierarchical meter structure and mixed genres. The problem of music information retrieval could therefore be considered in deep neural networks (DNNs) with a multi-task learning (MTL) setting. MTL-based DNNs have previously been found to be applicable in musical chord recognition. These networks can recognize a chord and root note in parallel, suggesting that the technology may be extendable to other musical information as well.

排版插圖
Figure: SSDH takes inputs from images and learns image representations, binary codes, and classification through the optimization of an objective function that combines a classification loss with desirable properties of hash codes. The learned codes preserve the semantic similarity between images and are compact for image search.

中央研究院 資訊科學研究所
中央研究院資訊科學研究所
  
多媒體技術實驗室
Principal Investigators:
廖弘源 Hong-Yuan Liao(Chair) 王新民 Hsin-Min Wang 呂俊賢 Chun-Shien Lu
陳祝嵩 Chu-Song Chen 黃文良 Wen-Liang Hwang 劉庭祿 Tyng-Luh Liu
蘇黎 Su Li

[研究群介紹]
多媒體技術與生物科技及奈米科技,被公認為是二十一世 紀最具影響力的科技產業。在過去二十多年來,我們已見 證了多媒體相關技術對於日常生活中的多層面影響與改善。 多媒體科技的應用極廣,促使了包含視訊、音樂、三維動 畫、影像、聲音等技術上的進步,並衍生出更多科學研究 的持續挑戰。
多媒體技術實驗室成員的主要研究方向,包括多媒體訊號 處理、電腦視覺和機器學習。每位研究人員除了專注於個 人有興趣的研究專題外,也透過共同參與大型計劃,以期 在重要研究議題上能有關鍵性突破。目前本實驗室正在執 行的大型合作計畫共有兩項,分別是(1) 結合視訊及音訊之 多媒體應用;(2) 深度學習於多媒體資料處理之研發及應用。 茲分述如下:

1. 結合視訊及音訊之多媒體應用:
我們的研究重點,在於開發結合視訊及音訊特徵的多媒體 技術和應用。更詳細地來說,我們探討下述應用:鑑於手 持式裝置越來越流行,很多年輕人可以輕易在演唱會現場 錄製一段現場演唱視訊片段,然後在回家後將之上傳到 YouTube 或者Vimeo 與朋友共享。觀賞業餘觀眾以手持裝 置在不同位置所錄得的視訊片段,感覺往往非常吃力且不 愉快。原因是眾多觀眾在錄影時並未事先協調好誰先錄, 誰取那一段來錄等細節問題。因此,放在YouTube 上面的 眾多視訊片段難免重複播放或短少某些片段。為了能讓未 到演唱會現場的觀眾有一愉快的「再次欣賞」機會,吾人 需要一個有系統的「整合」演算法則。通常,吾人稱此整 合為「視訊雜湊」(Video mashup)。

演唱會視訊雜湊會面臨的挑戰,主要有三方面:(1)通常 要完成一個有水準的視訊雜湊,必須遵守導演的編導語言 (language of film)。通常,導演會透過轉換鏡頭,用距 離長短、拍攝角度及特寫鏡頭等方式來呈現其藝術、情感 及技巧。如何自動「解讀」拍攝距離及角度,是一項艱鉅 的挑戰;(2)眾多由不同角度拍攝之視訊片段如何在「視 覺」上找出其先後順序,並有效加以銜接,也是一挑戰;(3) 演唱會視訊片段不僅只有視覺的部分,聲音的部分如何判 定其先後順序及判斷其音質好壞,也是一項挑戰。例如, 如何自動向用戶生成的視頻建議音軌( 亦即幫用戶拍攝的影 片自動配樂) 是一個具有挑戰性但值得嚮往的任務,最難的 部分是視頻和音樂之間的距離不能直接測量。隨著最近多 媒體信號的情感計算的發展,我們將低階的聲學和視覺特 徵映射到情感空間中,並且在那裡匹配這兩種模態。我們 的研究同時處理視頻編輯和音軌推薦問題。音樂,視頻和 諸如情感的語義註釋之間的相關性將被積極地探索和建模。 我們相信以這種方式組成的音樂影片是吸引人的,因為情 感的感知自然發生在視頻觀看和音樂收聽期間。

2. 壓縮感知及稀疏表達法:
深度學習在近幾年是一火紅的研究方向。Alpha Go 打敗韓 國世界棋王更突顯了這個領域之可行性及未來性。多媒體 資料處理領域有許多老問題及新興議題。深度學習已被證 明在Pattern Matching 上面極具效用,既存的多媒體資料處 理議題有一些原本在辨識上效果並不好,我們打算引入深 度學習來處理一些既存的議題,希望能大大提升原本不易 突破的瓶頸。在新研究議題方面,我們打算針對較困難, 與視訊相關的議題進行研發。

在未來數年,我們打算從事以下深度學習應用於多媒體資 料處理的相關議題:
1. 視覺資訊處理:
基於最近大型資料庫與GPU 的進 展,深層卷積網路獲得了廣泛的重視。其可學習豐 富的特徵表示,並在影像分類與物品偵測上展現良 好效果。然而目前大部分的深度學習方法都是針對 分類問題作設計,擅長於標籤判斷的工作,但不一 定適合於相關例(relevant instance) 的搜尋與檢索。 我們的研究著重於開發新的深度學習方法,以利於 影像或視訊檢索。考量深度學習在檢索方面仍存在 兩大問題。其一是所訓練特徵之存取效率不彰,其 二是特徵比對的準確性受限。由於檢索所需之空間 龐大,常需以二元(binary) 或雜湊(hash) 碼的方式 儲存以降低所需空間。而深層網路訓練的特徵大部 分為多維的實數向量,因此如何改造深層網路,使 其具備學習高效率的二元特徵碼的能力,是亟需探 討的問題。此外,目前的特徵通常以分類損失函數 (loss function) 加以訓練而成,所習之特徵空間具 備異類分開的特性,雖適合於分類,但不一定適用 於檢索。針對以上問題,我們發展了新的的方法。 在檢索效率方面,我們在2015 年提出一個以潛在 層(latent layer) 學習二元特徵碼的方法,能夠在不 影響分類準確率的方式下,強化檢索的速度,這是 目前深層學習二元雜湊碼的代表方法之一,發表於 CVPRW 2015,完整成果並於2017 年被期刊IEEE TPAMI 接受。另一方面, 我們也將分類損失函數改良為檢索損失函數,並發展跨批次的學習方法,以 訓練出同時具備異類與同類(或相關)樣本集中之特徵空間,讓檢索結果更 準確,此成果發表於國際會議ACM MM 2016 之長篇論文。

2. 群眾行為分析:
群眾行為分析牽涉到許多人在時間軸上的位置變化,要利用 深度學習網路原本慣用的架構去分析群眾並非易事。我們打算設計適當的深 層網路去分析動態的群眾行為。

3. 音樂資訊檢索:
音樂訊號往往包涵多種樂器、階層式的拍號結構和混雜的曲 風,通常皆以多重標記描述。因此,音樂資訊檢索問題可以利用多重任務學 習架構之下的深度神經網路來處理。此方法已經被證實在音樂和弦辨識的問 題上(即同時處理和弦名稱和根音名稱)有其實用性。

此外,我們正在進行的研究還包括用於視聽語音增強和用戶識別的多模式深度學習。 未來我們將開發於視訊中結合影像與自然語言,挖掘出人物相關資訊的方法,以利 於更高階的語意檢索。
排版插圖
圖:以AlexNet 為例,我們於原本網路的特徵層與輸出層間嵌入一個潛在的0-1 表示層, 並令其輸出值接近0 或1。輸出的分類或標籤則依賴於這些0 或1 的隱觀念來加以學 習,藉此以獲得涵蓋語意資訊的二元特徵碼。此處雖以AlexNet 為例,本法亦可與其 它深層網路配合以有效獲取二元雜湊碼。