Institute of Information Science
網路系統與服務實驗室
Principal Investigators:
何建明 Jan-Ming Ho(Chair) 莊庭瑞 Tyng-Ruey Chuang 陳文村 Wen-Tsuen Chen
陳伶志 Ling-Jyh Chen 陳昇瑋 Sheng-Wei Chen 陳孟彰 Meng-Chang Chen
張韻詩 Jane W. S. Liu

[ 相關網站 ]
多媒體網路與系統實驗室網路研究實驗室 電腦與通訊實驗室先進網路技術與服務實驗室

[研究群介紹]
本實驗室主要研究的方向,包括設計高品質、省電、以及安全的感測和網路環境,改善耐延遲網路協定;結合人類計算能力,探討學術研究上的關鍵挑戰;發展災害管理的關鍵資訊和通訊技術;和探討提供大規模金融風險管理服務相關的網路計算問題等。

陳文村 老師
現今無線行動網路中影片串統成為一項主流的服務。如何去排程資料的傳輸變成一項重要的議題。現今所使用到的QoS系統並未針對影片串流做設計,因此許多重要的影片片段會被丟棄而影響播放品質。在這個主題,我們設計了一個新的系統。根劇影片的特性,如位元速率,利用軟體定義網路(SDN)為影片串流做QoS的設定,並對傳送路徑做最佳的安排。除了可以改善影片播放品質,也可以增加網路頻寬的使用率。 傳統個人傳輸服務傳輸(PCS)與下一代通訊系統如3G或4G以全IP網路有著不同的傳輸機制,因此在PCS所累積的使用者移動性(mobility)研究不再適用於下一代通訊系統。本研究針對4G傳輸機制提出了不同於PCS的分析方法,藉由此分析可了解在4G環境下使用者移動性的特性,能提供網路基礎建設者作為規劃建置的參考依據。
對於物聯網和無線感測網路應用,提出長距離無線喚醒電路設計和一個新的全面性評估指標。從實驗結果可以觀察到,錯誤修正方法可以改進封包錯誤率和通訊距離,因此增強無線感測網路的效能和減少維護成本。關於在智慧感測和網路應用中的安全和隱私問題的考量,第四部份我們提出在無線感測網路和線上社交網路兩個環境的存取控制的議題。這個議題主要的挑戰除了必須要解決這兩個環境獨特的安全和隱私的問題外,在設計上還需要考量到效能是否可以在能源有限的裝置上運作〈例如感測器和智慧型手機等〉。我們的最終目標是建立一個不需消耗太多資源的安全感測裝置和網路系統。

陳伶志 老師
此外,我們亦針對網路感測系統中之節能議題與感測資料管理議題進行研究。我們研發可調變式GPS接收器的排程演算法,用以延長行動位置感測之系統運作時間,並且研發混合式位置感測方法,結合不同耗電性與資料準確性的感測器,提供可以兼顧節能與資料正確性的位置感測。我們同時提出一種輕量級且零失真的時空資料壓縮方法,並且設計一系列資料查詢演算法,讓時空感測資料能夠在未經解壓縮的狀況下,直接支援各種時空資料運算。我們的研究成果已實作在真實的網路感測系統中,其中包含一個支援玉山國家公園旅客遊憩、追蹤與搜救的任務型感測系統,以及一個使用智慧型手機的參與式感測系統,針對大台北地區大眾運輸工具的乘車舒適度,進行感測、分析與評量。

陳昇瑋 老師
人智運算的應用極為廣泛,從被動式地分析使用者提供的內容,例如使用圖標來幫助電腦瞭解照片內容的意義,到主動式地請使用者進行小型的任務,例如將影片中出現的人或動物輪廓等等。群眾外包提供了一種在時間及資源上極有效率的方法來收集大量的人智判斷結果,以幫助各個領域的研究者解決各式單以電腦極難解決的難題。在過去幾年中,我們對於GWAP (Games with A Purpose) 系統進行了一系列的研究以改善此類系統的效率及節省人力成本,同時也設計了一種新的進行人智遊戲的方法讓所收集到的使用者輸入更具有代表性,使其使用的文字更能夠涵蓋欲描述的概念。除此之外,我們也提出了一個能夠偵測作弊行為的方法讓研究者能夠在網路使用者協助下,精確且有效率地評估多媒體內容的品質。從各個方面來看,群眾外包都是一個相當有潛力的技術,將電腦與人腦兜在一起共同解題。未來我們也將持續研究及發展群眾外包技術,期望能徹底發揮此策略的潛力,解決各領域中重要及懸而未決的問題。

張韻詩 老師
我們與院內地球所及環變中心的研究人員,和國內與美國幾所大學的教授合作,研發一個開放式災害管理資訊架構、以及其所需之基礎元件。建立在此架構上的災害管理資訊系統,能支援提供決策與救災資訊所需的各類型服務、可以接收不同型態與不同來源之訊息(包括智慧型監控系統的感測數據、網路社群、非官方組織的訊息等),經由此一系統過濾與整合後,將產出更完整可靠的資訊給災害管理應用程式、設備及服務使用在減災、整備、應變、復原等階段。本實驗室的成員投入的工作包括研發以智慧型網絡實體互連設備與應用做為元件的智慧型災害整備環境;建立在一個預先處理與事後回復之機制上的可靠的應急資訊代理人;在災害發生時各種可用以減少收集、驗證及篩選社群所提供之災害相關資訊所需之人力的方法和工具;及運用不同類型網路接取技術、方式、和網路型態之互補的優點來強化災害發生當時和災後的實體連結。

何建明 老師
們也擬探討大規模風險管理服務相關的網路計算問題。雖然相關的經濟和金融理論和實務已經有相當長遠的發展歷史,然而,2008年爆發的世界性信用危機暴露了現今金融體系承受風險的體質相當脆弱。有一些例子可以顯示,三大信評機構缺乏效率,未能即時揭露公司倒閉事件。2001年安隆宣告破產的五天前,安隆的債券仍維持”可投資”評等。2008年萊曼兄弟宣告破產當天,也還得到”可投資”的評等。信評機構宣成他們的評等報告提供的是公司的長期展望而不是即時的評等。公司信用評等的相關變數包括總體經濟變數和個別公司的變數,總數多達上百個。無疑地,公司信用的即時評等有相當高的計算複雜度。然而,這也是維繫穩定的金融市場的重要基礎。互補於傳統的經濟與金融理論和實務發展,我們將以佈建大規模即時金融信用風險管理服務為主題,發展相關的計算方法和技術,包括 (1) 公司信用的即時評等;(2) 個人信用的即時評等; (3) 金融商品評價。 排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

相關資訊

Academia Sinica 資訊科學研究所 Academia Sinica

Institute of Information Science
Network System and Service Laboratory
Principal Investigators:
:::Jan-Ming Ho :::Ling-Jyh Chen :::Meng-Chang Chen :::Sheng-Wei Chen
:::Wen-Tsuen Chen :::Tyng-Ruey Chuang :::Jane W. S. Liu

Our research address several aspects of network systems and services, including the design of high-quality, energy-efficient, and secure environments for wireless sensing and networking, improving delay-tolerant network protocols, leveraging human computation capabilities to address key challenges, developing critically needed information and communication technologies for disaster management, and seeking solutions to network computational problems when providing large-scale financial risk management services.

Wen-Tsuen Chen
Mobile video streaming has become a dominant service, and consequently traffic scheduling has become an important issue to ensure fairness and provide better quality of service (QoS). Existing QoS schemes are not designed for video traffic, and they do not consider the different features of videos; this inevitably results in a bad experience for the user. Thus, we have used software-defined networking (SDN) to build architecture to reserve bandwidth, and route video traffic based on network resources and video features, such as bit rate. Through this process, we can guarantee video quality, and also improve network utilization.

Transmission mechanisms in the traditional personal communication service (PCS) networks and in the next-generation broadband all-IP networks are different. Therefore, the mobility models used in traditional PCS networks are not adaptive to 4G cases. In order to capture the essence of 4G network behavior, we propose a new mobility model to derive analytical results for telecommunications traffic. We observe that the derived analytical results can bring significant insight into the department of network infrastructure. We also present a long-range wake-up radio (LRWUR), and propose an overall metric for evaluating the Internet of Things (IoT) and wireless sensor networks (WSN). Experimental results have shown that block orthogonal codes improve both the communication range and packet error rate, thereby enhancing the wireless sensor node’s performance and reducing the cost of maintenance for IoT and WSN applications. As regards security and privacy problems in intelligent sensing and networking applications, we are addressing the challenges of access control in both WSN and online social networks (OSNs). The main challenges posed are not only the unique security and privacy problems in wireless networks, but also the computation and communication efficiencies required for energy-constrained devices (e.g., wireless sensor nodes and smart phones). We aim to design stronger secure sensing and networking systems which do not consume the limited resource of mobile devices.

Ling-Jyh Chen
Furthermore, we study networked sensing systems, with an emphasis on both energy efficiency and large-scale sensor data management. We have developed an adaptive GPS scheduling algorithm to prolong the lifespan of GPS-enabled mobile sensors, and have designed a hybrid location-sensing approach to strike a balance between power consumption and information accuracy by combining multiple sensors of different energy profiles and data granularity. We have proposed a lightweight and lossless data compression algorithm for spatio-temporal data management, and designed a set of data query algorithms to support spatio-temporal data computation using the compressed data directly. The results of our research have been implemented in two real-world networked sensing systems: one is a mission-critical sensor network, called YushanNet, for hiker tracking, search, and rescue in Yushan National Park, and the other is a participatory sensing system, called TPECMS, for comfort measurement of public transportation systems in the Taipei metropolitan area.

Sheng-Wei Chen
Applications of human computation range from the exploitation of unsolicited user contributions, such as using tags to aid understanding of the visual content of yet-unseen images, to utilizing crowdsourcing platforms and marketplaces (e.g., Amazon’s Mechanical Turk) to micro-outsource tasks (such as semantic video annotation) to a large population of workers. Further, crowdsourcing offers a time- and resource-efficient method for collecting large inputs for system design or evaluation purposes. We are applying crowdsourcing to optimize computer systems more rapidly, and to address human factors more effectively. In the past few years, we have performed extensive studies on the performance of GWAP (Games with A Purpose) systems and designed a human computation game in order to efficiently collect diverse user annotations. In addition, we have proposed a cheat-proof framework that can be used to effectively assess the quality of experience provided by multimedia content. We have found that crowdsourcing is indeed a powerful strategy that can draw collective intelligence for AI-hard problems. In the future, we will continue to study how to effectively use crowdsourcing to overcome challenges in a variety of areas.

Jane W. S. Liu
A disaster management information system (DMIS) facilitates the access, use, and presentation of data and information by application systems and services that support decisions and operations during all phases of disaster management. State-of-the-art DMIS have several common limitations: they cannot make effective use of all available information sources during emergencies; they do not exploit synergistic information from networks of things and crowds of people; and they are not sufficiently agile in response to changes in the disaster situation. We are collaborating with researchers in the Institute of Earth Sciences and with engineering faculty members from several leading universities in Taiwan and the USA to develop an open framework for building a DMIS that is free of these limitations. Our work is now supported by an Academia Sinica, Sustainability Science Research project called OpenISDM (Open Information Systems for Disaster Management). The current projects being undertaken by members of our laboratory include the development of smart cyber-physical devices and applications as elements of a disaster-prepared smart environment; algorithms and tools to support the collection and fusion of human sensor data contributed by crowds of people together with surveillance data from in situ physical sensors; methods and tools supporting communication and computation infrastructures for gathering, caching, fusing, and distributing ubiquitous and heterogeneous real-time streams of sensor data and information to response centers and individual responders and volunteers during disasters; exploitation of complementary merits of different network access technologies, approaches, and network types to make the physical connectivity as robust as possible during and after disasters; and a combined named-data-networking and softwaredefined- networking framework for enhancing disaster resilience of communication infrastructures.

Jan-Ming Ho
We are also interested in studying network computation problems that arise when providing large-scale risk management services. Despite the long history of the development of economic and financial theories and practices in financial risk management, the “worldwide credit crisis” in 2008 demonstrated the vulnerability of the current financial industry to risks. Several examples show that even the three major rating agencies were unable to efficiently report major default events. In Enron’s bankruptcy case in 2001, its bonds maintained “investment grade” ratings until five days before the company declared bankruptcy. In Lehman Brother’s case in 2008, they still received “investment grade” ratings on the morning they declared bankruptcy. The rating companies claim that their rating reports provide a long-term perspective rather than providing an up-to-minute assessment. In rating credit of a company, there are hundreds of firm-specific and macroeconomic variables. There is no doubt that assessing credit risk in real-time is indeed a task with high computational complexity. Nevertheless, it is an important foundation for maintaining stability of the financial market. Complementary to the research into economic and financial theories and practices in risk management, we aim to develop computing technologies for provision of large-scale, real-time financial risk management services, including (1) real-time rating of company credit; (2) real-time rating of personal credits; and (3) pricing of financial products.

排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

排版插圖

More

TOP
Academia Sinica Institue of Information Science Academia Sinica