Chinese
English
Research Fellow  |  Ho, Jan-Ming  
 
contact
vita
education
experience
interests
descriptions
activities
invited_talk
invited_visit
publications
patents
software
supervised
lab (New window)
 
 
 
 
 
Research Descriptions
 

        Jan-Ming Ho received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering and computer science from Northwestern University in 1989. He received his B.S. in electrical engineering from National Cheng Kung University in 1978 and his M.S. at Institute of electronics of National Chiao Tung University in 1980. Dr. Ho joined the Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica as an associate research fellow in 1989, and was promoted to research fellow in 1994. He visited IBM’s T. J. Watson Research Center in summer 1987 and summer 1988, and the Leonardo Fibonacci Institute for the Foundations of Computer Science, Italy in summer 1992. In 2004-2006, he was transferred temporally to the National Science Council, where he served as Director of the Division of Planning and Evaluation.

        His research interests cover the integration of theory and applications, including information retrieval and extraction, knowledge management, combinatorial optimization, multimedia network protocols and their applications, continuous video streaming, content networks, web services, the wireless Internet, real-time operating systems, bioinformatics, open source, digital library and archive technologies, and financial computing. Dr. Ho has also published important results in the field of VLSI/CAD physical design.

Recent research topics include: The Spiral Assembler - An Iterative Process of De Novo Genome Assembly Based on Smart Subset Selection, Developing Cloud-based Highly-Efficient Smart Technology and Algorithms for Wealth-Management, DASH Video Streaming in Uderground Rapid Transit and for better quality of experience, In-memory Lookup Filesystem on MapReduce Framework, Understand Social Movement from Social Media, and Text Retrieval of Ancient Book using Deep Learning Technology, etc.

 
 
bg

中文版
English
研究員  |  何建明  
 
contact
vita
education
experience
interests
descriptions
activities
invited_talk
invited_visit
grants
publications
patents
software
supervised
Personal (New window)
 
 
 
 
 
Research Descriptions
 

        何建明博士,現任中央研究院資訊科學研究所研究員。於1989 年獲得美國伊利諾州西北大學電機與電腦科學系博士學位。他是1978 年成功大學電機系畢業生,並於1980年在交通大學電子研究所得到碩士學位。1981-1982年服役期間任教於海軍官校數學系。他在1982 年進入中央研究院擔任助理研究員職務,1989 年任副研究員,1994年升任研究員,並於1987 與1988 兩年暑假在IBM T. J. Watson 研究中心從事暑期研究。1992 年暑假應邀在義大利李奧那多.費邦那其學院電腦科學基金會從事短期研究。2004-2006 年期間,被借調至國科會服務,在企劃考核處擔任處長。

        何建明的研究結合理論與系統應用,包括網路知識整理搜尋與自動分類管理、即時多媒體技術、行動網路、智慧型運輸系統、生物資訊、自由軟體與數位典藏技術、金融計算等領域。過去在VLSI/CAD physical design 領域有重要研究成果。

最近的研究主題包括The Spiral Assembler - An Iterative Process of De Novo Genome Assembly Based on Smart Subset Selection, Developing Cloud-based Highly-Efficient Smart Technology and Algorithms for Wealth-Management, DASH Video Streaming in Uderground Rapid Transit and for better quality of experience, In-memory Lookup Filesystem on MapReduce Framework, Understand Social Movement from Social Media, and Text Retrieval of Ancient Book using Deep Learning Technology, etc.

 
 
bg