Research Fellow  |  Chang, Yuan-Hao  
Personal (New window)

Yuan-Hao Chang (Johnson Chang) received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering at National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan. He is currently a Research Fellow (equal to Professor) with tenure at Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan, where he served as an Associate Research Fellow between Mar. 2015 and Jun. 2018 and Assistant Research Fellow between Aug. 2011 and Mar. 2015. Before that, he was a software/firmware design engineer in Hewlett-Packard, Taipei, Taiwan. His research interests include memory/storage systems, operating systems, embedded systems, and real-time systems. He is a Senior Member of IEEE and a Senior Member of ACM.

Dr. Chang has published more than 120 research papers, which were mainly published in top journals (e.g., IEEE TC, IEEE TVLSI, IEEE TCAD, ACM TECS, ACM TODAES, and ACM TOS) and top conferences (e.g., ACM/IEEE DAC, ACM/IEEE ICCAD, ACM/IEEE ISLPED, ACM/IEEE CODES, and ACM/IEEE EMSOFT). His works received 4 best paper nominations from top conferences (including ACM/IEEE DAC 2016, ACM/IEEE DAC 2014, ACM/IEEE CODES 2014, and ACM/IEEE DAC 2007) and one best paper nomination from ACM/IEEE ASP-DAC 2016. He has also been granted for dozens of US and Taiwan patents. In addition, he is a recipient of Y. Z. Hsu Scientific Paper Award from Far Eastern Y.Z. Hsu Science and Technology Memorial Foundation in 2018, Career Development Award from Academia Sinica in 2017, Outstanding Electrical Engineering Professor Award from Chinese Institute of Electrical Engineering (CIEE) in 2017, Ta-You Wu Memorial Award from Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) in 2016, Outstanding Youth Electrical Engineer Award from Chinese Institute of Electrical Engineering (CIEE) in 2014, and Excellent Research Project Award from National Program for Intelligent Electronics (NPIE) of Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) in 2014.

Dr. Chang is an associate editor of ACM Transactions on Cyber-Physical Systems (ACM TCPS), and is the lead guest editor of IEEE Transactions on Computers (IEEE TC) Special Section on "Emerging Non-volatile Memory Technologies: from Devices to Architectures and Systems." He serves as a program co-chair and a general co-chair of IEEE Non-Volatile Memory Systems and Applications Symposium (NVMSA) 2017 and 2018 respectively, and a local co-chair of ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Low Power Electronics and Design (ISLPED) 2017. He also serves as a program committee member for many international conferences (e.g., ACM/IEEE DAC, ACM/IEEE ASP-DAC, IEEE RTAS, and IEEE ICDCS), as a reviewer for premier journals (e.g., IEEE TC/TCAD/TKDE/TMSCS/TR/TVLSI and ACM TECS/TODAES/TOS). He is also an invited speaker for many prestigious conferences, universities, and institutes.