首頁

研究計畫

人員

著作

其他

English

 

 

 

 

研究主題描述

本實驗室的研究主題包含生物資訊和生物問題的探討兩部分。目前的研究工作,不僅是在發展生物資訊的工具和方法論,提供生物學家使用,同時也參與研究生物方面的重要議題。

目前的研究主要是利用新世代序列定序儀進行基因體和轉譯組學相關研究,主要包含四個研究議題:(一)C4植物光合作用組織的發育過程和演化;(二)微核醣核酸在疾病及細胞分化的調控;(三) 短序序列基因組重組和分析工具的開發。這些研究主題的合作研究人員包含中研院生物多樣性中心、基因體中心和生醫所等生命科學研究單位。

一、C4植物光合作用的基因調控和特化細胞結構的形成與發育

植物可分為C3C4植物兩種。C3植物光合的效率一般都遠低於C4植物,因此C3植物的生長環境和區域都有很大的限制。然而的幾種重要全世界最多人口食用的經濟作物,像是稻米和小麥,都是C3植物,其產量和種植的區域和氣候都有很大的關係。如果我們可以將稻米的C3光合作用路徑改為C4方式,將可大大增加其的產量,同時也可以讓原先不適合種植的區域也可以種植稻米,對於解決第三世界的糧荒問題將有非常大的助益。然而光合作用的調控路徑非常複雜,而且跟葉片結構中兩種重要的分化細胞有關。因此這個計畫結合不同領域的研究人員,包含植物基因體學、基因轉植、生物資訊和計算生物學等專家,共同來研究這個課題。我們將研究C3C4光合作用路徑的調控因子、C3C4植物葉片結構如何分化等問題,最後希望將找到的C4調控因子和路徑,轉植到稻米上。這部分的計畫主要的負責成員包括中研院多樣性中心主任李文雄院士和嘉義大學古森本教授。我們在本計畫主要負責:(1)分析轉譯組序列定序資料。(2)預測C4光合作用路徑的調控因子(3)預測調控特化細胞的形成和發育因子(4)建立C3C4光合作用的基因調控網路

二、微核醣核酸在疾病及細胞分化的調控

微核醣核酸(microRNA)在生長、細胞分化和疾病都扮演相當重要的角色。然而之前許多相關研究大都觀察單一個微核醣核酸的調控機制,但在生物體中,調控路徑相當複雜而且有互相彌補的機制。我們正在發展一套系統化的方式,整合新一代高速定序短序和其他實驗資料,建立整體微核醣核酸的調控網路。我們研究的課題包含微核醣核酸合作調控的機制在乳癌轉移、B細胞的分化和心室肥大所造成的影響。合作的研究學者包含:台大生科系阮雪芬教授(乳癌轉移)、基因體中心林國儀副研究員(B細胞的分化)和生醫所陳建璋副研究員(心室肥大)。這些合作實驗室提供微小核醣核酸(small RNAs)利用NGS技術進行定序,接著我們分析並預測可能的調控路徑,然後再由他們進行實驗驗證工作。預計我們的研究成果,可以增加我們對微核醣核酸在疾病及細胞分化所扮演的角色有更深入的瞭解。

 三、NGS短序序列分析工具的開發

由於新世代序列定序(Next -Generation Sequencing)的平台,像Illumina Genome Analyzer II andHiSeq 2000 and Applied Biosystems SOLiD等,能夠平行定序提供高產量的短序列定序結果。因此已經被廣泛應用在基因組學和轉譯組學方面的研究。然而隨著技術的快速發展,原先Illumina定序儀的定序長度已經由原先的不到40bases的長度,目前已經達到150bases。而每次定序的產量更可達到12 Gb95 Gb。越來越長的定序長度和越來越多的定序序列提供更多的資訊來進行基因序列重組。然而對於最常被應用以圖形為基礎的方法,像是de Bruijn graph based assemblers,記憶體的需求會隨序列長度、數目和定序錯誤數量成指數成長。因此大量記憶體需求形成在重組大型基因組序列(像是哺乳類動物或植物等)時最大的挑戰。目前的我們已經發展出一個非圖形為基礎的短序基因組重組程式(稱JR-Assembler),結合包含選擇有效的起始短序作為延伸的起點和跳躍延伸等多個新的概念,能夠有效降低記憶體的使用,而且重組成contig也較其他的方法正確

HOME

RESEARCH

PEOPLE

PUBLICATION

OTHERS

 

 

 

 

Research Description

Our major research topics focus on bioinformatics and biological problem study. What I have been doing is to develop useful bioinformatics tools and novel methodologies not only for service to a wide range of biologists but also for ourselves to study important biological problems as well as to answer interesting biological questions. Although I am a computer scientist by training, I firmly believe that studying biological problems and questions through collaboration with biologists can definitely enhance our understanding of what problems and questions are important and interesting to the biology community and what kinds of new bioinformatics tools are urgently needed for biologists.

Currently, our lab focuses on using the next-generation sequencing (NGS) technology to study the genomics and transcriptomics related topics including: (a) gene regulation and molecular evolution of Kranz anatomy formation during C4 plant development, (b) microRNAs in diseases and B cell differentiation, and (c) development of short read sequence assembler and related analysis tools. In what follows, I will introduce these topics and the collaborators in detail.

(a) Gene regulation and molecular evolution of Kranz anatomy formation during C4 plant development

Most plants can be divided into two types: C3 and C4. C4 plants, such as maize, have more efficient photosynthesis than C3 plants and can survive better in more extreme environments, such as high temperatures and arid lands. However, several food plants, such as rice or wheat, are all C3 plants; so their growth environments and areas are very limited. If we can increase the photosynthesis efficiency or even construct the C4 photosynthesis pathway to these C3 food plants, their productivity can be definitely increased and planting environments can be extended to more areas. It will be greatly helpful to solve the food crisis for Third World countries. However, the regulatory network of photosynthesis is very complex. Particularly, C4 plants require the coordination of the mesophyll and bundle sheath cells, called Kranz leaf anatomy, to confer high rates of photosynthesis. Moreover, how many genes are involved in the Kranzanatomy formation and how they regulate the formation during the early leaf development are largely unknown. In 2010, Academician Dr. Wen-Hsiung Li formed a group to study this topic. The participants are from different institutions in Academia Sinica and National Chiayi University, Taiwan and their professional specialties include plant photosynthesis, plant physiology, gene transformation, molecular evolution, bioinformatics, and computational biology. We want to study gene regulatory differences between C3 and C4 photosynthesis pathways and the Kranz anatomy formation during the early leaf development. In this project, our lab is responsible for processing and analyzing transcriptomic deep sequencing data, predicting key regulators of Kranz anatomy formation and C4 photosynthesis pathway, and reconstructing gene regulatory networks of C3 and C4 photosynthesis pathways.

(b) MicroRNAs co-targeting in diseases and B cell differentiation

MicroRNAs (miRNAs) play an important role in development, cell differentiation, and diseases. Most related studies only focused on studying regulatory mechanisms of individual miRNAs and single target genes. But most gene regulations are so complex and may compensate each other in vivo. That is, individual target genes could be regulated by a set of miRNAs and several miRNAs may co-target a common target gene. However, only few studies on miRNA co-targeting have been reported in literature. In this study, we are working on development of a systematic approach to integrate the experimental data, acquired from NGS and other platforms, and the information, from databases and literature, to predict miRNA co-targeting networks in diseases and cell differentiation. The topics we want to study include breast cancer metastasis (with Dr. Yu, Alice Lin-Tsing, GRC, Academia Sinica, Taiwan), B cell differentiation (with Dr. Lin, Kuo-I, GRC, Academia Sinica, Taiwan), and cardiac hypertrophy (with Dr. Chen, Chien-Chang, IBMS, Academia Sinica, Taiwan). We have sequenced small RNA samples collected from these collaborators' laboratories. We start to analyze the sequenced raw read data and will predict potential co-targeting pathways and finally validate by experiment. We expect that our results can increase the knowledge of miRNA regulations in different diseases and cell differentiation.

(c) Development of short read sequence assembler and related analysis tools

Short read sequencing (SRS) platforms, including Illumina Genome Analyzer II and HiSeq 2000 and AppliedBiosystems SOLiD with high throughput and relatively low cost, have been widely used for genomic andtranscriptomic studies in recent years. However, in contrast to the Sanger technique, which produces reads of ~1000 bp, short read sequencers produce shorter but a much greater number of reads, thus posing new challenges to many computational issues, such as de novo genome and transcriptome assemblies. A set of state-of-the-art approaches for processing SRS data were developed while the read lengths of SRS were from 40 bp to 76 bp. However, the read length and throughput have been greatly improved. The read length byIllumina Genome Analyzer IIx (GAIIx), for example, has been increased to ~150 bp, and the throughput has been increased from 12 Gb to 95 Gb per run. Although longer read length and higher numbers of reads provide more information for data processing, the computer memory requirements and execution times usually also increase with read length and total read count. In this topic, we have focused on developing a new de novo assembly algorithm to assemble a genome using Illumina short reads alone. The prototype has been almost completed and achieves better memory usage, speed, and contig quality than many current methods. Next, we will focus on developing effective and efficient algorithms to identify genome structural variations and the breakpoints by Illumina short read data directly.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

+