Chinese
English
Associate Research Fellow  |  Wang, Bow-Yaw  
 
contact
vita
education
experience
interests
descriptions
publications
supervised
 
 
 
 
 
Research Descriptions
 

        Compositional reasoning is one of the most effective checking. In compositional reasoning, the verification of a system is decomposed into simpler verification tasks of its components according to certain proof rules. By the soundness of compositional proof rules, the correctness of the system follows from the correctness of its components. Since components are verified separately, the state explosion problem is therefore circumvented. Developing sound compositional proof rules however depends on properties and computational models. Indeed, significant research effort has been devoted to it for decades. For finite-state automata and trace semantics, we have developed an automated technique to derive compositional proof rules. Moreover, we have shown that the class of prefix-closed regular languages forms a Heyting algebra. The proof system LJ for intuitionistic logic is thus able to derive compositional proof rules for the subclass of regular languages.

        Model checking and theorem proving are two of the most promising techniques in formal verification. In model checking, a mathematical model of computer system is checked against its formal requirements. The model-theoretic technique is able to explore finite-state models rather efficiently and widely applied in the design of computer hardware systems. On the other hand, computer systems are formalized as logical theories in theorem proving. Verification of systems amounts to deducing mathematical theorems from these logical theories. The proof-theoretic technique is able to check mathematical proofs formally. Due to the expressiveness of theorem proving, it is generally used in infinite-state systems such as computer software systems. Either technique has its strength and weakness. Neither can verify arbitrary computer systems satisfactorily. One of the most exciting research problems is therefore to develop a hybrid technique which combines advantages of both techniques.

        My research interests include both model checking and theorem proving techniques in formal verification. In model checking, we developed a complete SAT-based model checking algorithm based on a proof-theoretic framework. The model checking algorithm is reduced to proof search in the framework. Our SAT-based algorithm uses modern SAT solvers to search proofs and hence solve the model checking problem. Our proof-theoretic approach is in fact more general than typical SAT-based model checking. Firstly, the new approach is able to verify properties in the universal fragment of mu-calculus which is more expressive than the universal fragment of CTL* and hence linear temporal logic. Secondly, it has been applied to the verification of context-free processes almost straightforwardly. Our approach can not only verify more properties but also infinite-state systems. Traditional SAT-based technique has yet to be generalized in both accounts.

        The very first step in applying theorem proving is to formalize problems in the chosen prover. In formal verification, one has to embed various temporal logics and computational models in a prover and carry out proofs formally. Indeed, both linear temporal logic and computation tree logic has been embedded in various theorem provers. However, the formalization task needs to be carried out again should different temporal logic or computational model be used in specific application. We develop a modular formalization of CTL* to address the problem. CTL* is strictly more expressive than both linear temporal logic and computation tree logic. Moreover, our modular formalization states computation assumptions explicitly in the Coq module system. To reuse our formalization, one only needs to establish these assumptions formally. Using our modular formalization, we have established most of the soundness theorems for LTL, UB, CTL, and CTL*. Due to our modular formalization, these theorems need not be re-established when they are instantiated in future applications.

 
 
bg

中文版
English
副研究員  |  王柏堯  
 
contact
vita
education
experience
interests
descriptions
grants
publications
supervised
Personal (New window)
 
 
 
 
 
Research Descriptions
 

        模型檢驗和自動定理證明是正規驗證中,兩種最具潛力的技術。在模型檢驗中,電腦系統的數學模型針對其正規規格進行檢查。這個以模型理論為基礎的技術能有效率地探索有限狀態模型,並已被廣泛地應用於電腦硬體系統的設計。另一方面,電腦系統則在自動定理證明技術中被正規化為邏輯理論。系統之驗證則等同自這些邏輯理論推導數學定理。這個以證明理論為基礎的技術能正規地檢查數學證明。而由於自動定理證強大的表現能力,它被廣泛地運用於如電腦軟體系統等無限狀態系統之驗證。上述兩種技術各有其優劣,沒有任何一種得以令人滿意地驗證任意的電腦系統。因此,如何結合此兩種技術,以發展混合的新技巧,則是一項相當有趣的研究問題。

        我的研究興趣包含了在正規驗證中模型檢驗和自動定理證明兩項技術。在模型檢驗方面,我們基於證明理論架構上,發展了一個完備的模型檢驗演算法。在此架構上,模型檢驗演算法成了證明搜尋。而我們的模型檢驗演算法則利用先進的SAT引擎以搜尋證明,也解決了模型檢驗問題。這個證明理論為基礎的方法,事實上比傳統以利用SAT引擎的模型檢驗演算法更為廣泛。首先,新的方法能驗證比傳統方法還更具表現能力的邏輯。其次,它已被應用於驗證context-free processes。我們的方法不只能檢驗更多的性質,還能檢驗無限狀態的系統。傳統利用SAT引擎的技術,尚未能達同時被推廣於此二方面。

        組合式分析是減低狀態爆炸問題中,最有效的方法之一。在組合式分析中,系統之驗證依證明規則而分解成若干關於組成份子之驗證工作。藉由組合證明規則之正確性,系統之正確性可由其組成份子之正確性而得之。由於各組成份子可各自被驗證,狀態爆炸問題因此而被避免。但是發展正確的組合證明規則,卻依賴於性質和計算模型。事實上,過去數十年來,許多的研究已投入此項工作。針對有限狀態自動機和軌跡語意,我們發展了一套自動化的技術,得以推導組合證明規則。除此以外,我們還證明了prefix-closed 規則語言形成Heyting 代數。因此,直觀邏輯的證明系統LJ 可以推導在此類規則語言所適用之組合證明規則。

        在應用自動定理證明的第一步驟,是在所使用之證明程式中正規化問題。於正規驗證中,吾人必須將不同的時態邏輯和計算模型建入,並實行正規定理證明。事實上,linear temporal logic 和computation tree logic 已被建於各種不同的定理證明程式中。不過,一旦時態邏輯或計算模型在各別應用中改變,這個正規化工作則必須重新於執行。我們為CTL* 進行模組式的正規化,以解決此一問題。CTL*比linear temporal logic 和computation tree logic 還要具表現性。除此之外,這個模組式的正規化於Coq 的模組系統中,明確地說明計算假設。若要重覆使用這個正規化,使用者只須正規地建立這些假設。利用我們模組式的正規化,我們已經證明大部份的LTL,UB,CTL 和CTL*正確性定理。而由於模組化,這些證明在未來的應用中,無須被重新建立即可被使用。

 
 
bg