Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Research Group

Print

Network System and Service Laboratory

Principal Investigators

Group Profile

Our research addresses several aspects of network systems and services, including participatory sensing, software-defined networking, technologies for disaster preparedness and responses, indoor location based applications and services, and collaborative data projects. These areas are described below.

1. Participatory Sensing

We study the Internet of Things (IoT) and participatory sensing systems, and have combined the two concepts to build a large-scale system, called AirBox, for fine particulate matter (PM2.5) monitoring. The project engages citizens to participate in environmental sensing and enables them to make low-cost PM2.5 sensing devices on their own. It also facilitates PM2.5 monitoring at a finer spatio-temporal granularity and enriches environmental data analysis by making all measurement data freely available. As of mid-2020, we have deployed more than 15,000 devices in over 58 countries, and we have established collaborations with international and domestic researchers on several key issues regarding IoT systems and the interdisciplinary topics of environmental monitoring systems.

Specifically, we have investigated the data quality issue of the AirBox system, and we have conducted an anomaly detection framework to detect anomalous events in the real-time data stream. We have developed a cluster-based approach for short-term PM2.5 concentration forecast, and we have designed a clean air routing algorithm to provide path navigation with minimal PM2.5 exposure. We have carried out an adaptive sensor calibration mechanism and conducted a data fusion algorithm to integrate multiple PM2.5 data sources of different accuracy levels. Our ongoing work are to improve spatio-tempoal data analysis and identify additional intrinsic properties of AirBox data, and to extend our approaches to support other sensing systems of different environmental factors, such noise, odor, and radiation.

2. Software Defined Networking

SDN enables flexible routing for the traffic engineering of unicast and multicast flows to increase network scalability. However, the problem is much more challenging for multicast since the number of possible multicast groups is exponential to the number of nodes in the network. To tackle this issue, we formulated a series of new optimization problems with practically important SDN constraints, proved the NP-Hardness and inapproximability, and designed new algorithms with the tightest approximation ratios. Specifically, we first proposed an approximation algorithm with the tightest bound to improve the scalability for multicast group communications in SDN, and a new reliable multicast tree was introduced for SDN to reduce the recovery cost under the link and node capacity constraints. Next, the proposed multicast tree was extended to support multiple multicast groups for online SDN traffic engineering with network function virtualization (NFV) by embedding the service chain consisting of a sequence of virtualized network functions (VNFs). Finally, low overhead rerouting schemes were proposed to support online SDN traffic engineering with and without segment tree routing. The proposed δ-approximation and δ-competition algorithms can achieve the tightest approximation ratios. In addition to sophisticated theoretic analysis, the above algorithms were also implemented in real SDN networks with HP OpenFlow switches and Floodlight for YouTube traffic to show their practical applicability, and the results have been transferred to Inventec and EstiNet.

3. Technologies for Disaster Preparedness and Responses

For many years, the multi-disciplinary Sustainability Science Research project DRBoaST (Disaster Resilience through Big and open data and Start Things) provided us with opportunities and support to collaborate with research fellows and faculty members in earth science, urban planning and computer science on information and communication technologies for disaster management. At the start, our focus was on technologies for building open and sustainable disaster management information systems. Our results in this direction include prototypes, models and algorithms for responsive emergency trustworthy information brokerage service; disaster resilient heterogeneous and plug-n-play networks and dynamic logical information exchange; and models and tools for fusing data from intelligent things and people.

Our more recent emphasis was on the generation and use of data. One thrust was directed towards developing methods and tools for generation and collection of data needed for disaster risk reduction. Examples include CROSS (CROwdsouring Support system for disaster Surveillance). A typical disaster surveillance system needs to make critically important decisions within minutes or hours before disasters strike. When it is necessary to crowdsource human sensor data, an emergency manager needs help to recruit and manage trained volunteers, select participants from volunteers, plan tours for them to cover locations where observational data are needed, and fuse data collected by them in real-time with physical sensor data to improve the quality of sensor coverage. CROSS was built to meet these needs. We solved realistic variants of underlying participant selection, tour planning and symbiotic data fusion problems and produced solutions not only of practical utility to CROSS, but also of theoretical significance. Selected components were integrated into the well-known platform Ushahidi. CROSS has been used by our earth science colleagues who use trained volunteers after each significant earthquake in Taiwan to collect data on new geo-hazards for sake of assessing risks of earthquake-triggered compound disasters.

Another major thrust of our work was directed toward developing active smart embedded devices, mobile applications and services/systems in smart homes and buildings that can automatically process alerts from authorized senders and building safety systems and take location specific actions to minimize chance of injuries and reduce property damages when disasters strike. In particular, each device (or application) selects its action (or response instructions) in response to an alert based on not only the type and parameters of the alert but also on attributes of the building, interior layout and nearby objects around the device (or application). Our work has demonstrated that easy to customize and maintain active smart devices/applications for diverse purposes can be built on a common architectural framework from reusable components and alerts messages pushed asynchronously over the Internet can meet the end-to-end delay requirements of time-critical alerts. Our experimentation with a prototype active emergency response system in an office building during a simulated strong earthquake has demonstrated the effectiveness of such systems. As a step towards enabling the pervasive use of active devices and applications, a proof-of-concept prototype building/environment data and information (BeDI) system (or BeDIS) was built as a part of the ICT infrastructure needed to support location-specific, active emergency preparedness and response within large public buildings.

4. Indoor Location Based Applications and Services

Our effort after DRBoaST project ended in December 2018 has focused on transforming BeDIS prototype into a ready-for-deployment platform. BeDIS is a system of Lbeacons (location beacons). They are Bluetooth low energy devices with directional antennas pervasively installed throughout the building. During normal times, each Lbeacon broadcasts its own locally stored 3D coordinates and a brief location description. This capability enables hundreds and thousands of people in the building to locate themselves and navigate amidst dense crowd and moving objects via their mobile phones. Each Lbeacon also collects and timestamps MAC addresses of Bluetooth tags carried by objects of interest such as valuable equipment, critically needed tools, people requiring care, and so on. This capability enables BeDIS to locate the objects and track their movements in real-time. Location accuracy of 3-5 m or 6-10 m is achieved by adjusting the ranges and beam widths of Lbeacon antennas. The response time of the current BeDIS is 2-3 seconds nominally.

BeDIS is unique among competing platforms by being both an infrastructure for indoor positioning and indoor navigation (IPIN) applications and a platform for indoor location based services (ILBS). Furthermore, BeDIS has several distinct advantages compared with IPS (indoor positioning systems) built on competing technologies. They include that it degrades acceptably small in location accuracy and response time in presence of large crowd, and it is easy to configure and low cost to deploy and maintain. Moreover, Lbeacon can be easily configured to be a micro data server and used in an extended BeDIS that supports active disaster preparedness and response. When triggered by a disaster/emergency alert from responsible government agencies or the building safety system, an extended BeDIS functions as a system of micro data servers for delivering location- and situation-specific emergency response instructions to people and attributes of the building, interior layout and objects in their immediate vicinities to support the choices of response actions of active devices and applications within fractions of a second to seconds.

To date, we have ready for market the following applications and services:

  • BeDIS: an infrastructure/platform for IPIN and RT-ILBS applications;
  • WPIN (Waypoint-based indoor navigation) applications with head-up-display style GUI (graphical user interface) and voice based navigation directions on diverse smart phones for general public and special-purpose navigators for managing outpatients flows during their visits in hospitals and health clinics to minimize the total time required by each patient to complete his/her visits; and
  • BOT (BeDIS object tracking) and geo-fencing services for locating objects and tracking people indoors in general, within hospitals and other care-providing institutions specifically.

Several field trials are being conducted to assess their functionality and usability. The test sites include National Taiwan University Hospital Taipei and Yunlin Branch (BOT in ER and patient wards and WPIN in areas visited by outpatients.) Other sites include Changhua Christian Hospital, Taipei City Hall and Yunlin Veteran Home.

5. Collaborative Data Projects

We work on tools, systems, and services for collaborative data production, access, and preservation. Resource-constrained research projects often rely on third-party services for on-going data sharing and archiving. Such practices may not work well when the project involves a large number of collaborators participating in a fluid modality. In citizen science projects, for example, thousands of people may participate together. We list below a few collaborative data projects undertaken jointly with other research units (within and external of Academia Sinica), with the Institute taking a leading role.

depositar — Research Data Repositories for All.
depositar (https://data.depositar.io/) is a research data repository built upon CKAN, a free software package for publishing open data. We added several extensions: 1) rich metadata support, 2) spatiotemporal annotation and query, 3) preview and overlay of spatial datasets, 4) Wikidata-powered keyword, and 5) open registration for all. The services have been used by many for active research data management. The source code and user manual of depositar are freely available. We are also working with the Ministry of Science and Technology to develop research data management policies and guidelines for research projects supported by grants from the Ministry.

Taiwan Roadkill Observation Network (TaiRON).
TaiRON (https://roadkill.tw/) is a collaborative project on collecting (smartphone) photo observations on roadkill and other animal mortality in Taiwan. It started at the Taiwan Endemic Species Research Institute in 2011, initially using Facebook Group as the means for data collection. We redesign the data workflow so that participants first upload observation records to a dedicated project website. The website then generates digests and relay them to the Facebook group for species identification and community interaction. The new workflow allows for better data management and analysis, as well as individual control of observation records. TaiRON datasets have been instrumental in monitoring unusual animal deaths in Taiwan, and in designing new measures to reduce roadkill. The project received a 2019 National Agricultural Science Award in the Sustainable Environment category. TaiRON currently has more than 5,000 active participants.

The Sunflower Movement Archive. 
This public archive ( http://public.318.io/) is a collection of artifacts, images, and videos from the 2014 Sunflower Movement. Most of the materials were acquired by Academia Sinica when the students and activists were vacating from the occupied chamber of Taiwan’s Legislature. The archive permits anyone to search and identify objects in the collection, and it makes possible for owners to release high-resolution images of their creations to the public for reuse. The Sunflower Movement signifies a turning point in Taiwan’s recent history, and it continues to influence the political landscape and societal reflection of the island. The entire collection had been transferred to the National Museum of Taiwan History, and was featured in a special exhibition on Social Movements in Post-War Taiwan.

中央研究院 資訊科學研究所

研究群

友善列印

網路系統與服務實驗室

研究人員

相關網站

網路研究實驗室 電腦與通訊實驗室先進網路技術與服務實驗室

研究群介紹

本實驗室的研究方向包括參與式感測系統、軟體定義網路、備災應變科技、室內定位、導航及物件跟踪的應用和服務,以及資料協作專案,以下針對這些項目進行更詳細的介紹。

(1) 參與式感測系統

我們研究物聯網與參與式感測系統,並且結合這兩種概念發展一個細懸浮微粒 (PM2.5) 的大型觀測系統 – 空氣盒子。我們不但號招民眾參與環境感測,也提供詳盡的資源導引民眾製作低成本的 PM2.5 感測裝置,並且將所有收集到的量測資料免費開放給所有人使用,大幅提升 PM2.5 觀測在時間與空間上的精細度,豐富了環境研究的數據資料。直到2020年中為止,我們已經在超過58個國家,募集到使用者不見超過15,000個裝置,並且在在許多重要的物聯網與跨領域的環境監測議題中,保持和國內外相關團隊密切的交流合作。

除此之外,我們也著手研究空氣盒子系統的資料品質議題,並且提出一個能夠從即時資料流進行感測資料異常偵測的運算框架;我們也提出一個基於叢集分群的短時間PM2.5濃度預測方法,並且研究一種結合感測值與預測值以達到最小PM2.5曝露量的路徑導航規劃演算法;我們也開發一個因地制宜且支援大規模物聯網的感測器校正機制,並且設計結合多元資料源的資料融合技術。我們接下來的工作除了持續透過更深入的時空資料分析,找出感測資料中更多的細微特性,同時也將進一步擴展我們的研究成果到其他環境因子(例如噪音、臭味和輻射),支援更多元的參與式環境感測。

(2) 軟體定義網路

軟體定義網路(Software-Defined Networking,SDN)為單播和群播的流量工程(Traffic Engineering)提供了靈活的路由,以提高網路可擴展性。然而,由於可能的群播組數量與網路中的節點數量成指數關係,此問題對於群播更具有挑戰性。為了解決此問題,我們在真實網路一些重要的限制下,制定一系列新的SDN優化問題,並證明其為NP-Hard並推導不可近似性,同時設計了具有嚴格下界近似比率的近似演算法。我們首先提出一個新近似演算法,以提高SDN中群播組通信的可擴展性,接著引入了一種新的可靠群播樹以降低在路徑和節點容量限制下之恢復成本(recovery cost)。接著,我們嵌入由一系列虛擬化網路功能(Virtualized Network Functions,VNFs)組成的服務鏈將提出的群播樹進行擴展,以支援具有網路功能虛擬化(Network Function Virtualization, NFV)和多個群播組的線上SDN流量工程,並提出了低成本的重新路由演算法以支援分段樹(segment tree)路由之線上SDN流量工程。上述所提出之δ倍近似演算法和δ倍競爭演算法皆可以實現最嚴格的近似比例,其中δ是群播組中的最大目的用戶數。除了理論分析之外,上述演算法並實作於HP OpenFlow交換機與Floodlight控制器,在真實SDN網路中以YouTube進行驗證,以顯示其真實的適用性,且此結果已轉移至Inventec和EstiNet。

(3) 備災應變科技

這些年來,永續科學研究計畫「DRBoaST, 善用巨量開放資料與互聯網於强化災防應對與社區復原能力」為我們提供了與幾位地球所和領先大學的研究員與教師合作研發災害管理科技的機會。我們早期的目標為開發出一個用於建立開放並可永續維護與發展的災害管理資訊系統之架構,此架構的組件包括可信賴之資訊授權服務、具高適應力及穩健度的即插即用異質災害網路、動態和即時之資訊傳送服務、及群眾外包策略與演算法。我們已用這些組件的雛型證明了它們的概念和可行性,亦與中華電信研究所及國家災害科技防救中心合作、研發一個異質通訊網路之即時防災救災訊息中介軟體雛型。

我們近來比較專注於獲取與善用防救災資料,一方面研發獲取關鍵性災害資料之方法與工具,另一方面研發善用開放資料與互聯網的備災應變設備、軟體與服務。一個前者的例子是以群眾外包為基礎之災情資料蒐集與決策平台、名為CROSS (CROwdsourcing Support system for disaster Surveillance),其會在傳統感測網路與環境監控系統無法提供足夠災情資料時,於網路社群中廣播勘災資料蒐集之需求,基於志工之屬性,動態規畫志工配置與勘災路徑,並整合志工回報之觀測資料與感測器資料,以有效掌握災害範圍與災情。我們特別著重在志工資源分配,勘災路徑規劃與災情資料整合之相關學理基礎研究,使這些問題的解法能不僅為CROSS實用,而且可以推進基礎理論。我們已整合我們的志工資源分配模到知名的開源災害管理平台Ushahidi。我們的地球科學同事在使用CROSS,他們在每次顯著地震發生後,隨即調度志工在安全的情況下回報地震地表災害的科學參數,協助斷定對應的孕震構造與評估後續的潛在危害。

我們的另一個重點是應用開放大數據中的資訊以及智慧物件於備災及應變的科技基礎,目標為大幅提昇建築物安全及設施管理基礎建設及應用系統的防災及應變功能。我們已研發了能自動啟動避險機制的主動式智慧型嵌入式裝置、手機應用程式與緊急應變系統的雛型,以顯示其概念、可行性及有效性。我們並研發建築物資訊系統 (BeDIS),此系統可提供做基於位置和環境之備災應變決策所需的資訊,所以是讓主動式裝置、應用程式與緊急應變系統可以普遍使用於智能建築與環境中必需的基礎設施。

(4) 室內定位、導航及物件跟踪的應用和服務

DRBoaST計畫於2018年12月結束後,我們將BeDIS的雛型強化為可立即部署的平台。BeDIS系統中最重要的組件是位置信標 (Lbeacon, location beacons), 它們是在建築物中普遍安裝的藍牙低能耗設備,在通常情況下,每個Lbeacon都定期地通過定向天線廣播自己的3D坐標和位置描述,此功能使建築物中的人可以通過手機準確定位及導航。每個Lbeacon還收集在它覆蓋範圍內之藍牙標籤(tags)的MAC地址,此功能使BeDIS能夠即時的定位並跟踪帶有藍牙標籤的設備、工具、人員等。BeDIS可以達到3-5米或6-10米的定位準確度,其響應時間通常為2-3秒。

BeDIS既是能支持室內定位和室內導航(IPIN)應用程序的基礎架構,又是個即時室內位置特定服務(RT-ILBS)的平台,這是它的獨特優勢之一。BeDIS的卓越處也包括在此平台上構建的導航和物件跟踪程序能有足夠好、不受人潮影響的定位精準度和響應時間,而且具有低的部署和維護成本。

除BeDIS之外,我們的成果包括

  • WPIN(基於Waypoint的室內導航器):此應用程序具有抬頭顯示樣式的GUI和語音導航指令,可在各種智能手機上為一般民眾在室內導航。專為大醫院和診所的門診病人設計的WPIN也能規劃行程,以盡量減少每位患者完成其就診、醫療檢查、付款並取藥所需的總時間; 和
  • BOT(BeDIS object tracker)和地理圍欄服務: BOT可用於醫院、老人護理和其他提供護理的場地中來搜索和管理醫療裝置和設備、監控病人的位置和動作、以及促成設備使用統計數據的收集。

我們正在進行現場試驗,以評估這些應用程序和服務的功能和可用性。 測試地點包括台北國立台灣大學醫院和雲林分院(急診室和患者病房的BOT,以及門診病人就診的區域的WPIN)。其他試驗地點包括彰化基督教醫院,台北市政府和雲林榮譽國民之家。

(5) 資料協作專案

為了資料的協同生產、取用、與保存,我們開發了相關的工具、系統、與服務。資源受限的的研究計畫通常仰賴第三方服務來分享與典藏資料。當計畫成員眾多且以流動方式參與時,這不見得是好作法。舉例來說,一項公民科學計畫可能有數千人參與。以下列出幾項跟(院內或院外)其他研究單位一起進行的資料協作專案,其中資訊所擔負領頭的角色。

研究資料寄存所 — 對所有人開放的研究資料寄存服務。
「研究資料寄存所」(https://data.depositar.io/) 建立在 CKAN 這套用來發布開放資料的自由軟體套件之上,但我們加了以下功能:一、豐富的後設資料支援;二、時空間資訊的註記和查詢;三、空間資料集的預覽與疊套;四、使用維基資料管理關鍵詞;五、並開放給所有人註冊使用。許多計畫已使用該服務來管理研究資料。研究資料寄存所的原始程式碼跟使用手冊都可以自由下載。我們也跟科技部一同發展研究資料管理的規範與指引,提供給獲科技部補助的專題計畫。

台灣動物路死觀察網 (TaiRON)。 
TaiRON (https://roadkill.tw/) 以協作方式蒐集台灣的動物路死的(手機)照片紀錄。這項計畫 2011 年在台灣特有生物研究保育中心開始的時候,使用臉書社團為資料收集管道。我們重新設計了資料流程,讓參與者先將觀察紀錄上傳到專屬的研究網站,然後由網站發出摘要訊息到臉書社團,進行物種辨識與社群互動。新的流程讓資料好管理與分析,也讓觀察紀錄得以個別管控。TaiRON 的資料已用於狂犬病疫情監測以及路殺熱點的標示跟改善。於 2019 年底首次舉行國家農業科學獎,此計畫在生態永續類獲得卓越紮根獎。台灣動物路死觀察網目前有五千多位積極的參與者。

318 公民運動文物紀錄典藏庫。 
2014 年太陽花運動要結束之時,中央研究院到被佔領的立法院議場,與學生與運動者協議取得場內的物件。這些物件的數位化檔案以及另外取得的照片與影音檔案,便是這典藏庫 (http://public.318.io/) 的主要收藏。典藏庫的目錄介面,讓眾人可以搜尋並指認物件;也提供機制讓物件的創作者,能將物件的高解析度數位檔案提供給公眾再次使用。太陽花運動修正了台灣的走向,並持續影響全國的政治面貌與社會反響。這整批收藏已移轉給國立台灣歷史博物館,部份並於「戰後台灣社會運動特展」中展出。