Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Research Overview

Print

2009 Achievements

A Probabilistic Generative Framework for Extractive Broadcast News Speech Summarization

IEEE Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing 17 (2009): 95-106.

Yi-Ting Chen, Berlin Chen, Hsin-Min Wang

Author Affiliations
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

In this paper, we consider extractive summarization of broadcast news speech and propose a unified probabi listic generative framework that combines the sentence generative probability and the sentence prior probability for sentence ranking. Each sentence of a spoken document to be summarized is treated as a probabilistic generative model for predicting the document. Two matching strategies, namely literal term matching and concept matching, are thoroughly investigated. We explore the use of the language model (LM) and the relevance model (RM) for literal term matching, while the sentence topical mixture model (STMM) and the word topical mixture model (WTMM) are used for concept matching. In addition, the lexical and prosodic features, as well as the relevance information of spoken sentences, are properly incorporated for the estimation of the sentence prior probability. An elegant feature of our proposed framework is that both the sentence generative probability and the sentence prior probability can be estimated in an unsupervised manner, without the need for handcrafted document-summary pairs. e experiments were performed on Chinese broadcast news collected in Taiwan, and very encouraging results were obtained.

Image

View Full Paper

A Crowdsourceable QoE Evaluation Framework for Multimedia Content

Proceedings of ACM Multimedia (2009): 491-500.

Sheng-Wei (Kuan-Ta) Chen, Chen-Chi Wu, Yu-Chun Chang, and Chin-Laung Lei

Author Affiliations
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

In the design of computer systems, user satisfaction is an important factor (if not the most important factor) in determining the effectiveness of a system's design. In this paper, we consider how to measure user satisfaction systematically and efficiently. Traditionally, researchers have used the Mean Opinion Score (MOS) to measure user satisfaction with multimedia content; that is, experiment participants are asked to rate certain multimedia content with an integer score from 1 to 5. en, the average score is taken as the quality of the content. However, this approach is inecient for three reasons: 1) rating content quality by an absolute score is a dicult process; 2) experiments are expensive in terms of monetary costs (rewards for experiment participants) and labor costs (supervision of participants); and 3) there are limitations in terms of time (it is dicult to hire participants at night), computer hardware, and space. To solve these three problems, we have proposed a novel experiment framework. By using paired comparison and an algorithm to verify the consistency of each participant's input, the proposed framework reduces the diculty of obtaining quality judgments, and enables researchers to invite Internet users to participate in their quality assessment experiments. The evaluation results demonstrate the proposed framework enables researchers to outsource their experiments to an Internet crowd without risking the quality of the results; and, at the same time, obtain a higher level of participant diversity at a lower monetary cost.

Image
Image

View Full Paper

SPATE: Small-group PKI-less Authenticated Trust Establishment

Appeared in Proc. MobiSys 2009 (7th Int'l Conference on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services, June 22- 25, Wroclaw, Poland), pp. 1-14, best paper award of the conference. To appear in IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing.

Y.-H. Lin, *A. Studer, H.-C. Hsiao, E. L.-H. Kuo, J. McCune, K.-H. Wang, M. Krohn, P.-L. Lin, A. Perrig, H.-M. Sun, B.-Y. Yang

Author Affiliations
  • Research Center for Information Technology Innovation
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Establishing trust between a group of individuals is a difficult problem. We may simplistically reduce trust establishment to exchange of authenticated public keys. But it remains a very difficult problem. Prior works often assume trusted infrastructure or require an individual to trust unknown entities. The iCAST project by TWISC and CMU's CyLab proposed GAnGS (Gather, Authenticate,'n Group Securely), the first practical and scalable scheme implemented that used physical proximity as a token of trust. However, it provides relatively low probabilistic guarantees of authenticity (95% in some realistic settings).is work also by the iCAST project presents SPATE, a primitive that allows users to establish trust via device mobility and physical interaction. Once the SPATE protocol runs to completion, its participants' mobile devices have authentic data that their applications can use to interact securely (i.e., the probability of a successful attack is 2^{-24}). For this work, we leverage SPATE as part of a larger system to facilitate ecient, secure, and userfriendly collaboration via email, le-sharing, and text messaging services. We have implemented SPATE on iPhones and much less powerful Nokia N70 smartphones. e N70 implementation allows users to establish trust in small groups of up to eight users in less than one minute. e bundled Secure SMS system is a "cool" operation that is easy to operate. Secure SMS and the other example SPATE applications provide increased security with little overhead noticeable to users once keys are established.

Image

View Full Paper

中央研究院 資訊科學研究所

研究概況

友善列印

2009 重要研究成果

應用於廣播新聞語音自動摘錄式摘要之機率生成模型架構

IEEE Transactions on Audio, Speech, and Language Processing 17 (2009): 95-106.

陳怡婷、 陳柏琳、 王新民

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

本論文探討廣播電視新聞語音自動摘錄式摘要(extract ivesummarization)技術。我們提出一個結合文句生成文件機率及文句事前機率之機率生成架構,作為文件中文句排序的依據。文件中每一個句子均視為一個可以預測該文件的機率生成模型。我們同時探討字面層次比對(literalterm matching)和概念層次比對(conceptmatching,概念層次比對的好處是將同義詞、近義詞或關連詞視為同一潛藏(latent)語意類別,比對過程不限定使用完全相同的詞彙,可以處理詞彙不統一的問題。文句生成文件機率部份,字面層次比對採用語言模型(language model)和關連模型(relevance model),概念層次比對則採用文句主題混合模型(sentencetopical mixture model)和詞彙主題混合模型(word topical mixture model)。另外,我們利用文句中的詞彙、韻律及語意緊密性等對文句事前機率作一統合估算。我們的方法在沒有任何文件及摘要對應標記訓練語料的情況下,文句生成文件機率及文句事前機率仍可以採非監督方式(unsupervised)估算,此為一大優點。我們利用自行收集的臺灣地區廣播新聞語料進行實驗,獲得相當不錯的結果。

Image

檢視全文

A Crowdsourceable QoE Evaluation Framework for Multimedia Content

Proceedings of ACM Multimedia (2009): 491-500.

陳昇瑋、 吳辰杞、 張裕鈞、 雷欽隆

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

在電腦系統的設計中,使用者滿意度(user satisfaction, quality of experience)已成為一項極重要的系統良窳設計指標。此篇論文探討「如何有系統有效率地量測使用者滿意度」。傳統上,研究者皆使用MOS (Mean Opinion Score)來量測使用者對於多媒體內容品質的滿意度;也就是說,請受試者對於特定的多媒體內容品質來打分數(1至5分)再取平均值來做為該多媒體內容的品質。但是,以絕對分數來評量滿意度一件傷神耗力的工作,請受試者遠方而來進行實驗十分耗費資源(酬勞、車馬費及行政支援),且有時間(配合大部分受試者的作息時間)、硬體(電腦設備數量)及空間(實驗室大小)上的限制,資料收集的效率相當地受限。此論文所提出的新穎架構可解決以上所有問題。利用兩兩比對(Paired Comparison)的實驗方式以及檢測受試者答案可信度的演算法,除了減輕受試者實驗進行的困難度,更讓研究者可以透過網際網路邀請廣大的網路用戶們來協助進行實驗。該論文的實驗結果證明,使用我們所提出的架構,研究者可以更少的金錢支出,得到來自更多受試者的實驗資料,同時維持實驗資料的可信度。

Image
Image

檢視全文

SPATE: 小群組中無基礎建設的可認證公鑰交換

Appeared in Proc. MobiSys 2009 (7th Int'l Conference on Mobile Systems, Applications, and Services, June 22- 25, Wroclaw, Poland), pp. 1-14, best paper award of the conference. To appear in IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing.

Y.-H. Lin, *A. Studer, H.-C. Hsiao, E. L.-H. Kuo, J. McCune, K.-H. Wang, M. Krohn, P.-L. Lin, A. Perrig, H.-M. Sun, 楊柏因

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科技創新研究中心
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

建立起團體或個人間的信任係一困難的問題。即使化約到交換公鑰亦非易事。有鑑於此, TWISC 與CMU's CyLab 合作的 iCAST 計畫, 提出 GAnGS (Gather, Authenticate,'n Group Securely)系統,這是第一套實作的可延展系統可以達成上述目標,惟信賴區間小於95%。去年iCAST又發展出SPATE,可使用行動型智慧來幫助可驗證的公鑰交換。當SPATE協定結束時,參與其中的裝置將會產生可靠的認證數據(被攻擊成功的機率為2-24)。以此為基礎,SPATE可用於一套大型系統中的安全設施,提升e-mail、檔案共享及簡訊傳遞的安全層級。目前SPATE已經在iphone與Nokia N70上進行實作,八位N70使用者的建立信任只需不到一分鐘的時間,此後即可使用附屬的加密簡訊。而利用SPATE加強應用程式的安全所需的代價極低。

Image

檢視全文