Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Research Overview

Print

2012 Achievements

The Acoustic Emotion Gaussians Model for Emotion-based Music Annotation and Retrieval

Proceedings of ACM Multimedia 2012, 89-98

Ju-Chiang Wang, Yi-Hsuan Yang, Hsin-Min Wang, and Shyh-Kang Jeng

Author Affiliations
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

One of the most exciting but challenging endeavors in music research is to develop a computational model that comprehends the affective content of music signals and organizes a music collection according to emotion. In this paper, we propose a novel acoustic emotion Gaussians (AEG) model that defines a proper generative process of emotion perception in music. As a generative model, AEG permits easy and straightforward interpretations of the model learning processes. To bridge the acoustic feature space and music emotion space, a set of latent feature classes , which are learned from data, is introduced to perform the endto-end semantic mappings between the two spaces. Based on the space of latent feature classes, the AEG model is applicable to automatic music emotion annotation, emotion-based music retrieval, and emotion-based music video composition. Our results show that the AEG model outperforms the state-of-the-art methods in automatic music emotion annotation. This work won the first prize of the 2012 ACM Multimedia Grand Challenge.

Image

View Full Paper

Online Optimization with Gradual Variations

Journal of Machine Learning Research - Proceedings Track 23 (COLT), 2012, 6.1-6.20

Chao-Kai Chiang, Tianbao Yang, Chia-Jung Lee, Mehrdad Mahdavi, Chi-Jen Lu, Rong Jin, and Shenghuo Zhu

Author Affiliations
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Many situations in daily life require ones to make repeated decisions in an unknown and changing environment, including examples such as trading stocks, forecasting weather, commuting to work, playing games, etc. This motivates the study of the so-called online optimization problem in which a player must iteratively choose an action and receive a loss for a number of rounds. We consider a natural restriction of this problem in which the loss functions have a small deviation, to mode l environments which evolve gradually. For this, we provide online algorithms which achieve smaller regret bounds than previous ones.

Image

View Full Paper

Image Feature Extraction in Encrypted Domain with Privacy-preserving SIFT

IEEE Transactions on Image Processing 2012, 21(11), 4593-4607

Chao-Yung Hsu, Chun-Shien Lu, and Soo-Chang Pei

Author Affiliations
  • Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica

Privacy has received considerable attention but is still largely ignored in the multimedia community. Consider a cloud computing scenario where the server is resource-abundant, and is capable of finishing the designated tasks. It is envisioned that secure media applications with privacy preservation will be treated seriously. In view of the fact that scale-invariant feature transform (SIFT) has been widely adopt ed in various fields, this paper is the first to target the importance of privacy-preserving SIFT (PPSIFT) and to address the problem of secure SIFT feature extraction and representation in the encrypted domain. As all of the operations in SIFT must be moved to the encrypted domain, we propose a privacy-preserving realization of the SIFT method based on hom omorphic encryption. We show through the security analysis based on the discrete logarithm problem and RSA that PPSIFT is secure against ciphertext only attack and known plaintext attack.

Image

View Full Paper

中央研究院 資訊科學研究所

研究概況

友善列印

2012 重要研究成果

適用於音樂情緒辨識及檢索之音訊情緒高斯模型

Proceedings of ACM Multimedia 2012, 89-98

王如江楊奕軒王新民、 鄭士康

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

我們提出一套新的演算法,以聲學視覺情緒高斯模型來自動分析及辨認多媒體的情緒內涵;在聽覺方面是透過音色、音調與節奏等特徵,而視覺方面則透過色彩、亮度與畫面跳動頻率等特徵,來分別辨析影片及音樂的情緒內涵,進而以情緒為根基進行兩者的自動配對。這套系統,亦可支援使用者以音樂搜尋具有相關情緒的影片。這項技術,可應用於個人影片的聲音後製,或是諸如YouTube等社群影音分享網站上;也可自動為音樂錄影帶製作人推薦適合搭配的影片,讓使用者輕鬆完成影音俱佳的多媒體作品,具有很高的娛樂以及應用性。此研究參與美國電腦協會國際多媒體年度學術研討會(ACM Multimedia 2012)之「電腦多媒體應用頂尖挑戰」(Multimedia Grand Challenge),與來自中國大陸、新加坡、美國、法國、荷蘭及香港等國的17支優秀的決賽團隊競逐,終脫穎而出榮獲首獎。

Image

檢視全文

線上學習、賽局理論與複雜度理論

Journal of Machine Learning Research - Proceedings Track 23 (COLT), 2012, 6.1-6.20

蔣兆凱、 Tianbao Yang、 李佳蓉、 Mehrdad Mahdavi、 呂及人、 Rong Jin、 Shenghuo Zhu

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

在日常生活中,有許多情形需要我們在一個未知且變化的環境中不斷得作決定,例如買賣股票、預測天氣、通勤上班、或是參與某些競賽等。這些情境可以被抽象化成所謂的線上優化問題。這個問題由許多回合所組成,而參與的玩家在每一回合中,必須選取一個行動,接著得到這個行動所帶來的損失或者獲益。在這篇論文中,我們考慮一個自然的狀況:假設相鄰兩回合中計算損益的函數差異很小,這可以用來模擬逐漸變化的環境。對於這樣的問題,我們提出演算法,並證明我們的方法比起先前的其他結果都有更好的表現。

Image

檢視全文

具隱私保護之SIFT於加密影像特徵擷取

IEEE Transactions on Image Processing 2012, 21(11), 4593-4607

許朝詠、 呂俊賢、 貝蘇章

作者所屬單位
  • 中央研究院資訊科學研究所

隱私保護在多媒體領域仍是相當新穎的問題。在一個雲端計算環境裡, server運算功能強大且資源豐富,能夠完成所給定的工作;可以預見在此環境中,具隱私保護的多媒體應用,一方面想藉由雲端環境完成所需計算又不可洩漏資料給server等第三者,已是未來趨勢。有鑑於scale-invariant feature transform(SIFT) 已廣泛使用於電腦視覺與識別等領域,我們首先研究具隱私保護功能之 SIFT(PPSIFT)技術使其能在加密數位影像擷取特徵點,如下圖所示。由於所有 SIFT之運算皆要在加密域完成,我們提出基於homomorphic encryption實現 PPSIFT技術。我們以基於discrete logarithm problem與RSA來證明PPSIFT能夠抗 ciphertext only attack與known plaintext attack。

Image

檢視全文